Back on the road... - Reisverslag uit , van Lisette Later - WaarBenJij.nu Back on the road... - Reisverslag uit , van Lisette Later - WaarBenJij.nu

Back on the road...

Door: Lisette

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lisette

18 Januari 2010 | ,

For the second and following year I celebrated a warm and sunny Xmas time; the past year in Sydney, this year in Santiago de Chile, where after almost 10 months I’m finishing another period in my still ongoing travel experience. It has been a while since I wrote my previous story, usually in Dutch, but to make it a bit more comprehensible for all the international friends and families amongst us, I decided to continue writing in English – which I guess should be no problem for all the homies back in “Dutchland”.

Before I carry on, I would like to wish all of you love, peace and happiness in the year of the tiger!! A bit late I know, but that’s nothing new for those who know me better…

Ok, what can I tell about my latest experiences in Santiago. I guess I could say that I have lived 3 different lifes here. The one of partying-backpacker, of devoted student Spanish, and of an 8-months hard working receptionist at Hostal Providencia – that has proudly won the Hostelbookers Award for “Best Staff 2009”!! So if anyone of you is planning a trip to Santiago de Chile, you know where to stay.

A few a you might have thought I had already finished my travels as I haven’t written any stories for quite a while. The reason for postponing my website-stories had to do with the fact that I didn’t want to bore anyone with daily-life stories like: “this week I organized a barbeque, had a few parties, met hundreds of new people, went to the mountains, the beach, the country side, renewed my visa in Argentina, got robbed with all my important belongings etc.” Apart from the last-mentioned happening, these were all very fun for me to do, but perhaps less interesting for you to know. One festivity that is however worth mentioning is the celebration of New Years’ Eve in the vibrant city and Unesco World Heritage site “Valparaiso” (Paradise Valley). The bohemian lifestyle, the hedonistic parties and the colorful and chaotic street life make it the perfect place to party. After a night of great street-dancing, the city was filled with drunken, sleeping, singing and vomiting people, empty bottles and an odor of a too excessive party night. Like the big travel guides recommend, an experience of a New Years’ Eve fiesta in Valpo is one of the must-do’s in South America.

Another very important happening in Santiago was the 2nd round of the presidential elections yesterday. The two candidates Eduardo Frei (former president) and Sebastián Piñera were in a tight race towards becoming the leader of the country for the next 4 years. Piñera won the elections with a 52%. As a foreigner it is very special to experience a political phenomenon like this, as the whole country is in silence, starting the day before (Saturday) at 19:00hrs to stop the vending of alcohol and to close all bars and restaurants. Almost everyone is indoors and the city appears as being deserted. Once the votes had been counted big groups of people (the Piñeristas) went on the streets with flags and happy faces – as they had won the football World Championship. The fact that Piñera will be the next president of Chile, will mean a big change in the countries´ politics as it is the first time in 20 years that Chile will have a right wing government since Augusto Pinochet's dictatorship.

Enough about politics, all is of course to be found on the web for those who are interested….
In the second week of December, almost high summer in Santiago, I finished my job at the hostel and decided that is was time for old-school backpack style. Although I have already made several attempts to hit the road, Santiago just didn’t let me leave. Today, for example, I tried to buy a bus ticket to Puerto Varas in the south of Chile, where I will go to together with my amigo Felipe . Unfortunately the price was almost 20% of my temporary budget and thus we decided to start tomorrow on a cheaper and more exciting hitch-hike trip of about a 1000kms. If the good flow keeps on going, we expect to arrive after 3 days of sure adventure.

As usual, it’s the journey, not the destination that matters and therefore I have no schedule nor route or anything what so ever for my South-American trip. The only thing I know is that I’m heading back to my Chilean hometown the beginning of March, to meet a few “buenos amigos” which are travelling as well. Speaking about visits, in October I got the delighted visit of one of my good friends Kelly and her boyfriend Feiko. Followed in November by a 2-week visit of my dear father and his girlfriend Yvonne and of course, after more than a year time it was great to see them all again!

All right, it’s time to pack my back… I will let the photos speak for themselves to finish the story.
Hope to hear from you all soon and don’t hesitate to leave a note below! ;-)

Beso,
Lisette

PS. check the video below or the complete version on: (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=--Esuvl1c4g)
(Project of a friend Enrique that studies journalism and had to conduct an interview)

  • 18 Januari 2010 - 20:35

    Carlien:

    Wowie!! Ik wist niet dat jij zelfs in het Engels nog zo mooi kon schrijven! Begin je nu toch wel erg te missen. Snel weer mailen!

    Kus en veel liefde!

  • 18 Januari 2010 - 21:34

    Linda:

    Heej lieve zus,

    Leuk filmpje! Al begreep ik de grote lijnen, ben wel benieuwd wat je nou precies zei!
    Had je nog geprobeert te bellen, maar niet gelukt!
    Fijn dat je het nog steeds zo goed naar je zin hebt! Keep up the good flow!

    Dikke kus

  • 19 Januari 2010 - 06:45

    Yvonne:

    Dat was een poosje geleden, zo'n bericht. Goed dat we zelf geweest zijn en dat was een "niet te vergeten ervaring" Vanavond de foto's kijken, nu naar mijn werk..........het is nu 07.45u. Chao Lieske

  • 19 Januari 2010 - 10:12

    Eline:

    heeeeee lieve lisette!
    Nog eeen gelukkig nieuwjaar, ik hoop dat je in dit jaar nog heel veel mooie dingen zult zien en veel liefde en geluk.
    erg grappig die foto met het bord van rijkzwaan
    dikke kus

  • 19 Januari 2010 - 10:13

    Hilde:

    Jeej!

  • 19 Januari 2010 - 10:17

    Broeder Marcus:

    Zegt: 'Wees Dankbaar'

    (Ik heb een Broeder Marcus kaartje voor je gepakt met de vraag wat je nodig hebt voor je nieuwe reis)

  • 19 Januari 2010 - 11:28

    Maartje:

    Ha Lisetje! Klinkt weer helemaal geweldig! Heel veel plezier met de trip die je gaat maken. I'm sure the good flow will keep on going! Liefs

  • 19 Januari 2010 - 12:20

    JESSIE:

    Nihao Lisette,
    Erg leuk om je verhalen te horen via het internet en ik wil je veel plezier wensen! Hier in Shanghai, Ramada Pudong gaat alles goed & werk nog steeds at the Executive Floor.. Ik heb een baby..a girl one year!
    Have Fun!!!
    zai jian jessie ...and I am learning Dutch from the other trainees from Holland :) yes!

  • 19 Januari 2010 - 12:48

    Liselot:

    Hi Lisette!
    I thougt; lets type a massage back in Englisch:P Always when I read your stories, I want to go away from home to. But my Englisch isn't so good as yours and first I have to get my education. As I can see on the pictures you have had a great time in Santiago and I thougt it was very funny when I saw you standing by Rijkzwaan. Like if you where back in the Netherlands.
    Tonight I am going snowboarding with a few friends from school so I also have a great time in Sittard.
    I notice that my Englisch has become worser because I don't have any Englisch lessons anymore. So I want to wish you a very good year with a lot of new places and countries to visit.

    bye bye

    p.s. I have found a site where you can hear how to pronounce words in another language: www.forvo.com

  • 19 Januari 2010 - 18:25

    Jet:

    Jeeeej leuk om weer verhalen van je te horen!! Enneh... ik vind t eigenlijk ook best interessant om je daily life verhalen te horen! Met alle daily hassles die je daar tegenkomt! Maar goed.. dat bewaren we dan maar! ;)
    Heel veel liefde gewenst!

  • 19 Januari 2010 - 18:48

    Mama:

    Hallo lieve Lisette,
    Sommige foto's krijg ik de tranen van in mijn ogen!
    Ik vind het zo fijn om je gelukkig te zien!
    En de video is geweldig!
    Je bent weer in nieuwe reisavonturen gestapt en zoals altijd zal ik in gedachte met je meereizen.
    Je zult geen tijd hebben om hier aan te denken, maar dat hoeft ook niet. Ik ben toch bij je!
    Heel veel plezier in de mooie, leuke wereld.
    En dat je alleen de mooie dingen maar mag treffen!
    Ik hou van je! Liefs en kus van mama

  • 20 Januari 2010 - 16:15

    Evi:

    Nice :). Maar was natuurlijk al volledig op de hoogte door ons e-mail time-management! Leuk die foto van jou en je novio/futuro esposo ;)? xx Eef

  • 22 Januari 2010 - 03:56

    Milana:

    Hi Lisette, leuk om te lezen, veel plezier op je trip! Dat klinkt zeker als een avontuur haha. Ik vaar momenteel langs Mexico, mocht je nog in de buurt zijn kijk uit naar een groot schip. Veel plezier! Groetjes Milana

  • 25 Januari 2010 - 16:16

    Dok:

    Dok Ko 25 januari om 8:15
    Hallo Lisette,
    Hoe bevalt het uitgaansleven in Chili; daar lees ik niet zo veel over.
    En, ik heb nog geen antwoord gehad op mijn vorige mail, zie de regels hieronder!
    Dit was de inhoud:
    Tijd om nog eens een mailtje naar je toe te sturen.
    Ken je Remy Bindels niet?
    Je weet wel, van die zeer spannende tijd!
    En waar zit je op dit moment; want je berichten in je site zijn niet altijd up to date. (Nu echter al een heel stuk beter!)

    Groetjes,
    Dok.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lisette

Flight schedule: 29-09-08 Amsterdam - London 30-09-08 London - Abu Dhabi 14-10-08 Dubai - Mumbai 14-11-08 Mumbai - Bangkok 14-12-08 Singapore - Hong Kong 18-12-08 Hong Kong - Shanghai 23-12-08 Shanghai - Sydney 27-02-09 Sydney - Auckland 26-03-09 Auckland - Santiago (chili) 01-08-09 Buenos Aires - London 02-08-09 London - Amsterdam

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 288
Totaal aantal bezoekers 85973

Voorgaande reizen:

29 September 2008 - 02 Mei 2010

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: